American Girl Doll – Truly Me #58

Another doll I’ve really wanted to try having has been an American Girl doll, or same sized equivalent. I have looked for over a year at all the different options available, trying to decide if some cheaper options would satisfy my curiosity, but I eventually decided I should just take the plunge and get an actual American Girl rather than spend money on several alternatives only to still want one in the end anyway XD

The Kit Kittredge doll had always appealed to me but I decided that since I now have a different blonde doll (my Petitcollin Minouche Joelle), I would try something different. After looking at them all, the one that really spoke to me was #58, and finally last week,the opportunity to get her arose.

Now I’ll be honest, when I first opened her up, I wasn’t feeling it. However, I think it was mainly due to the fact that I really don’t like the outfit the Truly Me dolls come in. It didn’t suit the character I had in mind for her at all. However, I found a dress and some shoes I still had from a previous doll which fitted her perfectly and she felt a lot better in these.

One thing I was pleased about though is that she is from a batch before they started putting the built in underwear on them which I know a lot of people are cross about so that was a relief to see that she has the original removable ones.

I really like her face mold and her hair and although I knew they can stand on their own, I was still impressed by it. Her knees have been sculpted really well, and I am surprised by how well she can hold her arms and legs etc in different positions. Although she does tend to want to sit with her legs in a big V shape, it is possible to position her so they are a bit straighter too so that was a nice surprise.

In general, I am really pleased with her, especially once I got her out of her horrible stock outfit; but I can already say that I doubt I will be adding to my American Girl collection unless I was able to get one at a super cheap price as I think they are overpriced for what they are.

American Girl Doll - Truly Me #58

American Girl Doll - Truly Me #58

American Girl Doll - Truly Me #58

American Girl Doll - Truly Me #58

American Girl Doll - Truly Me #58

American Girl Doll - Truly Me #58

American Girl Doll - Truly Me #58

American Girl Doll - Truly Me #58

American Girl Doll - Truly Me #58

American Girl Doll - Truly Me #58

American Girl Doll - Truly Me #58

2 thoughts on “American Girl Doll – Truly Me #58

  1. kristinmaw says:

    You got an AG doll! I love #58. My daughter has Addy, who has the same face mold. I like 58’s hair better, but Jules was really attached to the Addy character. Have fun with her!

Leave a Reply

